We have said it and we repeat it: Serenissima is not only San Marco. Moreover, the city of Venice offers an incredible variety of stories to discover. Among these are those of the ridotti and the casini where gambling was played and the night was spent in the company of some courtesan. In the eighteenth century there were as many as 136, but not all were, so to speak, places of perdition: some were musical academies and literary circles in which dance parties and sumptuous dinners were held.

Period residence at Lido


Among the latter, the only one on the Lido was built by the nobleman Daniele Pisani between 1573 and 1575, on a project by Gian Antonio Rusconi and collaboration of Andrea Palladio, in the place where the ownership of the family extended and for this reason called Ca ‘Pisani. Right where today there is the Albergo Quattro Fontane, which therefore boasts a history spanning five centuries.


Owned in the Renaissance by the noble Pisani family, after having known a sumptuous reception season, the building with its splendid garden was bought by the Bevilacqua family who wanted to share with their guests the pleasure of the treasures and collections of this charming residence.


In the nineteenth century the “casino” was transformed into a tavern also frequented by the poet Robert Browning. Between 1905 and 1926 the tavern became a hotel and some parts of the ancient architecture were incorporated into the renovation, including a series of arches, the imposing fireplace with lion-shaped shelves and the four columns of the dining room.


It was then that it took on the features that still characterize it today and that make it look like a mountain chalet on the outside, while inside are fanciful stylistic admixtures and decorations of Liberty taste: espalier “boiseries”, coffered decorated with rosettes, friezes, torchères and chandeliers from the famous workshop of Maestro Bellotto.

The 60 rooms, furnished with period furniture and fine fabrics, are divided between those housed in the cottage and those in the new wing. They are all different from one another: to our, located on the first floor of the chalet, is accessed through a staircase that lies beyond an arch that separates it from the main room on the ground floor.

Next to this arch there is another equal, covered with dark wood paneling, which allows access to the restaurant, characterized by a floor of black and white tiles. In the restaurant the large fireplace and the four columns stand out, also of the ‘500, original elements of the oldest building, while the ceilings are wooden beams and coffered.

The furniture, which includes pieces from the owners’ extraordinary antique collections, is very rich and heterogeneous.
Everywhere there are Murano chandeliers, all kinds of ceramics, paintings, prints, miniatures, Persian and oriental rugs, display cases and furniture in which precious memorabilia are kept: small bags from the early 1900s, liturgical vestments, fans, puppets.

Wandering around the rooms of the building is like leafing through a history book that occasionally deliberately emerges somewhat surprisingly, as in the bar where the original walls are left specially visible in some places.

Beautiful also the ceramic tiles of the floors of some rooms, like ours, comfortable and with double overlooking the lush garden. Everywhere there is an air of vacation and tranquility.

But as we have already emphasized to make the Albergo Quattro Fontane special, it is not only the privileged position and the atmosphere that captures those who stay in this fabulous period residence, but also its glorious past.

As well as the services at a dwelling with a distinct personality. In the morning breakfast, served by very kind ladies in a black uniform with a white apron on the tables dressed in pink cyclamen in the cool garden, has a flavor of other times.

For those who reach the hotel with their own vehicle, parking inside the structure is free. Also available are a tennis court and a private beach which can be reached by a short walk along the Palazzo del Cinema. And to go to the heart of Venice? A few meters away is the vaporetto stop that docks at the Casino stop.

In the hotel you can also have lunch or dinner enjoying Venetian specialties or international cuisine as a hotel that hosts customers from all over the world cannot fail to offer. And our four-legged friends? They too enjoy the same spaces reserved for those who accompany them, ample and pleasing in the garden in which a huge century-old plane tree dominates, reserved and collected in the refined living rooms of the house that maintains the charm of private homes where you feel more like guest than customer.

In fact it reads very clearly on the site of the structure that the Quattro Fontane is not a hotel but a country villa immersed in the greenery of the Lido of Venice that has changed its name from Ca ‘Pisani to the current one, taking it from the Austrian fort that was located in an intermediate position between the fortifications built at the two ends of the coast, those of San Nicolò and Malamocco, and which was later demolished between 1934 and 1936 to make room for the Palazzo del Cinema.

A perfect place to dream in style, breathing the sense of a great past lovingly safeguarded.

Albergo Quatto Fontane
Via Quattro Fontane, 16 – Lido di Venezia (VE)
Info: +39 041 526 0227 – info@quattrofontane.com

Thanks to Ottica Moschetta for the Soya sunglasses worn on the occasion.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here