The visit to the small village of Roccagloriosa is a surprise: here in the two locations of the local Antiquarian relive Lucans between the thecas that hold numerous archaeological finds dating from the fourth and third centuries BC. Among these the most important are the jewels of fine workmanship that belonged to Princess Fisteila, but also the great vessels and the two elegant rhyta head of animal shaped found in the tomb of a warrior are remarkable, despite the striking contrast with the firing defects. All this suggests that it is a specific contract, probably performed on site for the customer, certainly a figure at the top of the community of Roccagloriosa in the second half of the fourth century BC.
Today the village is well preserved and the historic center of medieval plant is marked by fine carved stone portals of the baronial and noble palaces. Walking along alleys and steep stairs open up unexpectedly and the magnificent landscapes of the Gulf of Policastro, over the iconic silhouette of Mount Bulgheria and valleys of Mingardo and Bussento.
Special is the history of Palazzo De Curtis: here it is said that the great Totò was conceived in secret from Maria Marotta, janitor of the building owner and lover of the Prince. What is certain is that the actor was always very close to the town. Another “gem” not to be missed is The Chapel Sant’Angelo of the Brotherhood of the SS. Sacramento built by Marino Crasso, personal physician of Charles V in 1525 in the cave where St. Nico from Rossano Calabro came to pray and where the Archangel Michael appeared. On the door of the chapel it is written in Latin: “This is the chapel of the Angel where Pope Clement VII granted indulgence of 1,200 days in favor of those who visit it”. Inside it is preserved the tools used during the procession of Holy Saturday, one of the deepest of the territory. These instruments emit a sound that evokes the pain of nature to the passion of Christ. Particularly the massive and noisy “carrozzùne” played by children and boys who follow the procession led by the Brotherhood of the SS. Sacramento accompanying the dead Christ.
The walk between climbs and descents can continue to the fountain of the Three Cannoli that marks the entrance to the old town and is connected to the wash of Fontanelle through a long channel and an underground cistern. If at this point you got hungry, the obligatory stop is Da Addolorata in the village of Torre Orsaia (Osteria Pancione di Addolorata in via Pulsaria, 17 in Torre Orsaia – tel. +39 0974 985669). Her main dishes? All the traditional ones made from homemade pasta like lagane and chickpeas, cavatelli and ravioli with meat sauce in maxi-portions. Among the main courses we chose meatballs and sausage gravy and the indispensable stuffed eggplant, that of Cilento elongated shaped. In conclusion, you can not tell no at the “scaldatelle”, donuts with honey and sugar and a chat with Addolorata who tells of her beginnings in the kitchen with her mother who in 1954 started the inn and like she, the tenth of eleven children and seven female, continued this family tradition. And she remembers when as a child snooping between ladles and pots and dishes were simple ones than once. And they are so still since she offers them exactly as before without changing a comma or rather an ingredient!
To sleep simple but refined hospitality of Le Stalle di Giurò (read our post in Sogni d’oro: https://www.cittameridiane.it/le-stalle-di-giuro-aria-di-famiglia/), charming country house and an ideal starting point to discover quietly and enjoy this ancient land plan that opens to tourism that makes no noise.